首页

Class Actions and Class Certification

Economic analysis is an important and valuable tool in a wide range of class action litigation. NERA experts advise clients on the entire range of economic issues that can arise in class action cases, including the determination of common impact on a class-wide basis, proof of injury, analysis of intra class conflict, and the feasibility of formulaic approaches to damages. NERA economists employ sophisticated economic theory and quantitative methods, grounded in a thorough understanding of markets. We work with clients at all stages of counseling, from the pre-complaint period through discovery and trial, and we present our findings in a clear and concise manner that is accessible to attorneys, juries and judges, as well as other economists. Our expertise in these areas includes:

Antitrust

NERA's antitrust experts regularly prepare economic analyses that examine whether or not impact (the fact of damage) and damages (the overcharge amount) can be proved on a common, class-wide basis for all members of a proposed class using common evidence, or if instead individual evidence is needed to demonstrate impact and damages customer by customer, or for different groups of customers.

Labor and Employment

NERA's labor economists advise clients on the entire range of economic issues that can arise in class actions alleging discrimination or wage and hour violations, including the determination of common impact on a classwide basis, proof of injury, analysis of intra-class conflict, and the feasibility of formulaic approaches to damages.

Product Liability

NERA experts provide assistance at each stage of consumer class actions alleging misrepresentation, fraud, product failure, or diminution of value. We have experience in a wide range of industries including credit cards, automobiles and automotive products, computers, sporting goods, medical products, buildings products, and telecommunication devices.

Securities

NERAs securities and finance economists frequently provide consulting and testifying services in securities class actions. Even before the case gets underway, clients often ask us to estimate the exposure and the amount that defendants are likely to pay if the case settles. Using our knowledge of plaintiff-style damage calculation methodologies and our proprietary database of information on hundreds of prior shareholder class action settlements, NERA provides estimates for both of these figures to help counsel better assess the magnitude of the case. NERA also helps clients deal with the early phases of arguments about whether or not a case should proceed.

Name Title Location 国彩网官方网站Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 1466 patrick.conroy@
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Securities and Finance Practice
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@
Jorge Baez Director Miami
New York City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
jorge.baez@
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
lingling.ang@
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@
Dr. Samantha Iyengar Associate Director New York City (212) 345-3788 samantha.iyengar@
Dr. Robert Kulick Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9262 robert.kulick@
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@
Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2842 ignacio.franceschelli@
Jonathan S. Polonsky Senior Consultant Chicago
New York City
+1 312 573 2801
+1 212 345 4067
jonathan.polonsky@
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@
Dr. Daniel Werner Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1012 daniel.werner@
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@
Dr. James Cooper Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 james.cooper.affiliate@
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@
Title Type Author
Hey Google: When Did People Stop Going to Work? White Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry, Linh Nguyen, and Aakash Bhalothia
Economic and Financial Analyses in Australian Securities Litigation in the Wake of TP... White Paper Dr. David Tabak and Dr. William S. Taylor
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q1 国彩网官方网站 Update White Paper Janeen McIntosh.and Svetlana Starykh
How Are Different Types of Stocks Weathering COVID-19? Published Article By Dr. Jordan Milev
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2019 Update Report Bradley A. Heys, Robert Patton, Jielei Mao
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2019 Full-Year Review Report Janeen McIntosh and Svetlana Starykh
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q3 2019 Update White Paper Svetlana Starykh and Janeen McIntosh.
Recent Trends in US Securities Class Action Litigation: H1 2019 Update Report Janeen McIntosh and Svetlana Starykh
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q1 2019 Update Report Svetlana Starykh, et al.
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2018 Update Report Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton
Title Date Type
Trends in 2019 Securities Class Actions: Filings Remain High, Resolutions Have Slowed... 21 January 国彩网官方网站 Press Release
15 August 2019 Media Coverage
2018 US Securities Class Action Filings Break New Records; NERA Economic Consulting R... 29 January 2019 Press Release
01 May 2018 Media Coverage
05 April 2018 Media Coverage
Looking Closer At A Record Year For Securities Cases 21 February 2018 Media Coverage
Record Increase in 2017 US Securities Class Action Filings Driven by Merger-Objection... 30 January 2018 Press Release
NERA Economic Consulting Opens Office in Miami, Florida 14 November 2017 Press Release
03 March 2017 Media Coverage
26 February 2017 Media Coverage